Student Assistance Program

The purpose of the Student Assistance Program is to identify students who demonstrate behaviors that prevent educational success. We do not treat, diagnose or refer your child for treatment. Instead, we gather information from your child's teachers and then provide a list of options for parents & student to choose to pursue.

Are you worried about your teen and do not know what to do? Is your teen threatening to hurt him/herself? If you feel your teen is a danger to themselves or others around them, you can contact TEENLINE at Holy Spirit Hospital for immediate assistance.

1-800-722-5385
or 717-763-2345

WPHS SAP TEAM MEMBERS

 Mr. Christopher Rahn-Principal crahn@westperry.org
 Mr. Kevin Deane-Dean of Students kdeane@westperry.org
 Mrs. Mandy Zeigler-Guidance Counselor mzeigler@westperry.org
 Mrs. Heather Bell-Guidance Counselor hbell@westperry.org
 Mrs. Lauren Meili- Guidance Counselor  lmeili@westperry.org
 Mrs. Amanda Davis-Nurse adavis@westperry.org 
 Mrs. Kendall Pankake-Spanish Teacher khartman@westperry.org
 Mrs. Debra Foose-Learning Support English Teacher  dfoose@westperry.org
 Mrs. Ashley McMillen-English Teacher amcmillen@westperry.org 
 Mr. Dan Smith-Science Teacher dsmith@westperry.org
 Mrs. Lynne Reeder-English Teacher/SAP Secretary lreeder@westperry.org 
 Mrs. Kelly Eckroth-Home and School Visitor keckroth@westperry.org


SAP Process

Who can refer a child? How is a child referred?
Anyone within the school community may refer a child to the SAP team--parents, students, teachers, custodians, administrators, and even community members. All referrals are confidential--no one outside the SAP Team knows who has been referred or has referred a student.

Referral forms can be obtained from any member of the SAP Team. The form asks for the name of the student being referred, and provides a checklist of reasons for referral. Referrals can also be made electronically via the link to the form in the paragraph below.
 
I am a parent or community member who cannot get to school to refer my child. How do I refer my child? 
Just like last year, we have an electronic form for making referrals. This form is still completely confidential and your responses to the form’s questions can only be accessed by the SAP team secretary. Complete the online form or call the WPHS at 789-3931 and ask to speak with any member of the SAP Team. 
 
What reasons can a child be referred? 
There are many reasons which may include but are not limited to the following: academic performance, school attendance, disruptive behavior, unusual behavior, peer problems, suspected use of drugs/alcohol, frequent themes of death/dying, personal problems or a change in physical appearance.
 
What happens after a child is referred? 
The SAP Team sends checklists to the child's teachers to obtain academic and behavioral performance in class as well as any observable behaviors. Once the checklists are collected, a member of the SAP Team contacts parents/guardians to seek approval to move forward with the referral.
 
If a parent says no, what happens? 
The SAP Team closes the case and sends a letter of refusal to the parent/guardian that provides contact information should the parent/guardian decide to change their mind and seek SAP assistance.
 
If a parent says yes, what happens? 
The SAP Team then refers the child to either a representative from Teenline or from Perry Human Resources who then schedules a meeting with the child, gathers information and composes a list of recommendations to the child and the parent/guardian. It is up to the parent/guardian and child to pursue any recommendations. All information regarding referrals is kept confidential!!
 
 If you have any questions, please call the WPHS or email a member of the SAP team. If a link is not working, please contact a SAP team member.

Resources

For additional support options for your child, visit the following sites:

Highmark Caring Place - A center for grieving Children, Adolescents & Their Families located in Lemoyne, PA. 

Perry Human Services - Serving Individuals, Families & Communities located in New Bloomfield, PA.